Orange County Limo - new laws that affect DUIs and Social Hosts
Getting an Orange County Limo or party bus has just become more important effective 1/1/11 with the passage of a new law. AB 1601 authorizes judges to revoke for up to 10 years the driver’s license of any person convicted of there or more DUIs in a 10-year period. Yep, you read that right. No driver’s license for chronic DUI offenders.
Read these stats – there were 187,987 DUIs in California is 2008. Almost 200,000! And 9,164 of these were third time offenders wthin 10 years. Drunk drivers killed more than 1,000 people in California and injured 28,000 more.
Now, in my humble opinion, if somebody has 3 DUIs they are probably an alcoholic. And many, many alcoholics don’t have the money for an Orange County Limo or party bus. But some of those movie stars, models and reality stars out there in Orange County or Los Angeles area might be reading this and might fit into that category – a chronic alcoholic drinking and driving regardless of the consequences. . . . and with enough money to order limo service. . . .
Another bill of importance is AB 2486 or the Social Host Liability law – if a “social host” 21 years of age or older knowingly gives alcohol to someone under 21 years of age, the social host may be held legally accountable if that person is injured or dies, or if their property is damaged or destroyed as a result of the underage person’s drinking the alcoholic beverage. A social host is a person who provides alcohol to guests at his or her residence. I know of many times where I was served wine or beer at family parties when I was underage. To think that my family members could have been held responsible if I’d been hurt!
Keep aware of laws that can affect you if your drink, host parties and make the unfortunate choice to get behind the wheel after drinking alcohol. Be safe and book your Orange County limo or party bus today!